Poll

Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?

Yes- except when visiting friends
8 (12.5%)
Half the Time- Broadband at work, Dial-Up at home
1 (1.6%)
Sometimes- Sometimes use Dial-Up at other Locations
9 (14.1%)
Broadband all the way
24 (37.5%)
Screaming Fast Broadband
10 (15.6%)
Use Mobile Wireless sometimes
12 (18.8%)

Total Members Voted: 53

Author Topic: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?  (Read 9305 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wooferhound

  • Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2316
  • Country: us
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« on: February 21, 2012, 08:15:44 PM »
This is a Renewable Energy website and some people living remotely or in Low Tech areas are still using Dial-Up connections.
Just trying to find out how many are on Low Speed ?

DamonHD

  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3650
  • Country: gb
    • Earth Notes
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 01:05:39 AM »
I don't 'dial up', though my wireless dongle thinks it does and still lives in AT City!

So I think anyone that uses 2G/3G/whatever (slow) wireless at least some of the time, eg on the train, could be covered.  Do you want to (can you?) amend 'dial-up' to include 'mobile/wireless some of the time'?

Rgds

Damon

PS. See, I'm still whining about the options!

wooferhound

  • Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2316
  • Country: us
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2012, 07:13:01 AM »
I added a mobile Wireless option

Bruce S

  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 4585
  • Country: us
  • USA
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2012, 07:14:39 AM »
When I head back to my home town Poplar Bluff, Missouri that still has a RR# and the roads are still rock, where there is no dsl,cable and 3G wireless is scant or expensive, dialup is where this comes in very handy.
A kind word often goes unsaid BUT never goes unheard

richhagen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1508
  • Country: us
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2012, 08:49:48 AM »
When I get out away from town and no 3g is available, I have found that I can still connect my laptop through my phone using the Digital Edge system, but it is verrrry slllooowwww.
A Joule saved is a Joule made!

dbcollen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2012, 08:57:39 AM »
I just upgtaded from 500K satelite to 4meg wireless

Dustin

TimS

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Country: us
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2012, 09:26:07 AM »
I'm really lucky, even though the nearest power pole or phone line is 2 miles away, I get wireless service from line-of-sight to a mountain top 2 miles away.  And, wireless just got faster, I get about 4mb/s with a motorola canopy system.

MaryAlana

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1200
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2012, 02:04:32 PM »
Verizon cell modem 100% dialup wasn't even an option, my phone lines are to old and crappy.

DanB

  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2157
  • Country: us
    • otherpower.com
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2012, 06:17:48 AM »
I am pretty stuck with satellite here, and the two choices are wild blue, and hughes.  I use Hughes and I must say it's improved quite a lot in the last year, it seems faster ~ my daily bandwidth allowance has improved.  VOIP even works sometimes these days!  Considering my location, I am not complaining.
If I ever figure out what's in the box then maybe I can think outside of it.

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

  • SuperHero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2785
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2012, 11:23:54 AM »
I have (slow - 1.5M) DSL at the townhouse (where I am most of the time), slow (22ish K) dialup at the Nevada place.

If/when I go full time in NV I expect to upgrade there.  But wired DSL is not available and it doesn't make sense to pay $80ish/month extra for using the local WISP when I'm only out there a few days a year.

(Didn't buy a data plan on my cellphone - NV place is on the last cell before the dead area - ATT only - and they didn't provide data service there last I checked and they also want arm-and-leg for a system that would be "tetherable", i.e. usable with a laptop or desktop.  I mostly use the cell when driving anyhow so it's "just a phone".)

dave ames

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Country: us
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #10 on: February 29, 2012, 07:02:46 AM »

Very slow dial up here, a purely economic choice...for now.

A four minute utube video takes an hour to download and watch and a site with auto-loading flash and videos will freeze my pc up and require a restart  :-X

Norm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1847
  • Country: us
  • Ohio's sharpest corner
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2012, 06:38:08 PM »
Broadband here in NE Ohio .....click on a utube pic and starts  playing in
4 seconds....fast enough to suit me.....
Norm.

thirteen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 980
  • Country: us
  • Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2012, 07:19:26 AM »
Dial up.  My son has wireless connections here  in the same house and he laughs at me until his gets interrupted if there is a problem and he grudgely will hook up my slow but reliable peoples pc. It always works.
MntMnROY 13

ThomasJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: ca
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2012, 06:14:08 PM »
dial up is the only option here unless I go to satellite. The phone lines are supposed to be getting upgraded to high speed next year so I couldn't justify the outlay to buy a satelite system
governments should be afraid of their people, not the other way around

taylorp035

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1009
  • Country: us
  • Stressed spelled backwards is Desserts
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2012, 06:35:37 PM »
I have the double speed DSL, which comes out to 1.5 mbs.  Unfortunately, the quality is horrible, so half time response times are in the seconds range or non-existent.  My neighbors on the other hand have dial up since they are outside of the 3 mile radius for DSL.  Before we had DSL, we used a satellite @ 100 kbs    At school, I have seen speeds of 80 mbs....

hiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1531
  • BIG DOG
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2012, 11:32:34 PM »
mobile broadband here--20 bucks a month--for 3000mbs....GCI
WILD in ALASKA

Frank S

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Country: us
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2012, 07:43:25 AM »
I am totally reliant on usb 3g modems often with all of the ISP filters I can but only wish I had dial up speeds
I live so far outside of the box, when I die they will stretch my carcass over the coffin

XeonPony

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • Country: ca
  • Sanity is over rated!
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2013, 12:14:09 AM »
I use a 3g/4G cellular modem hooked to a 3w linear amp that feeds a 6.7dbi antenna with a self contained ground plain
Ignorance is not bliss, You may not know there is a semie behind you but you'll still be a hood ornimant!

Nothing fails like prayer, Two hands clasped in work will achieve more in a minute then a billion will in a melenia in prayer. In other words go out and do some real good by helping!

neilho

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Do you use Dial-Up internet access ?
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2013, 12:06:32 PM »
Dialup is what I use most of the time, anything faster requires a visit to the library. No wireless service exists here, but due to some rabblerousing at the state level (Vermont) fiber- to- the- home is being installed past my driveway now! Yassuh!