Author Topic: 30wattPVC  (Read 2046 times)

koolmart

30wattPVC
« on: August 13, 2005, 12:06:53 AM »
This is my first attempt at hydro using the old motor from my first genny.

Its a panasonic 90vdc geat motor with brushes. The  pvc blades are cut from 2inchpipe? screwed into an aluminum spool 4inx3in. that is attached to the very short shaft of the motor. The turbine is set into an irrigation ditch with a flow of about 100gpm+.6-8foot of head.  this comes off a yearround stream with substantial flow. Its putting out about 30watts at about 180rpm. problem is the turbine must be manually adjusted to the water level of the ditch. local farmers adjust the level periodically thru the summer. its been running now for 3 days with no problems.but I anticipate damaging/losing the unit some rainy night. does anyone have any ideas forthat and/or attaching props/turbines to the very small shafts of dc motors? this seems to be my biggest problem, my props from my old gennys usually fail at the shaft first. Thanks,

Martin

« Last Edit: August 13, 2005, 12:06:53 AM by (unknown) »

koolmart

Re: 30wattPVC
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2005, 06:11:26 PM »
Ooops, sorry bout the last pic, really
« Last Edit: August 12, 2005, 06:11:26 PM by koolmart »

Nando

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2005, 06:59:19 PM »
Martin:

I need to be short with the message.

You need to Dam the channel ( I have done many times)

The Wheel needs more blades, about 12 to 18 blades, so increase the diameter to about the height of the channel.

Build a DAM, 3 or 4 yards in front of the wheel placement, to fill the water to about 2/3 height and from there make a channel going down to the Wheel -- The wheel the width of the bottom of the channel -- make sure that the built channel sides height is good enough to carry all the water without spilling.