Author Topic: My first alternator  (Read 1620 times)

jhardin

My first alternator
« on: September 20, 2007, 06:17:23 PM »
I am just learning about this stuff and it has been a lot of fun, but I have no experience or education related to this topic so forgive my ignorance.

I am trying to determine if I am getting the expected voltage from my 3-phase axial flux alternator.  Here are the details:  two 6" diameter circles of 3/4" plywood for the rotor and the stator, 8 magnets (neodymium, 1" dia, .25" thick), and 6 copper coils (20 gauge) with with 50 windings each. The windings have a 1" inner diameter to match the magnets and are placed at every 60 degrees.  The magnets are placed at every 45 degrees on the rotor.

Casually spinning the rotor with my hand (~60 RPM) I get ~.14 volts AC from a single coil, about double that for each phase, and ~.8 volts DC when all 6 coils are connected in a star configuration and rectified (all three start wires for each phase connected together, each of these coils' end wires connected to the start wire of the second coil in the phase, leaving the remaining three end wires for output).  If I really spin it hard, I can get over 1.2-1.5 volts (AC and DC) and get an LED to flicker.  

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was hoping to beat the hamster on otherpower.com.  From this description, does it sound like I am getting the right amount of voltage or did I likely make a mistake?

Thanks.

Josh

« Last Edit: September 20, 2007, 06:17:23 PM by (unknown) »

fungus

Re: My first alternator
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2007, 12:25:56 PM »
A few thoughts;

Plywood discs for the rotor arent very good to conduct flux; you'd be much better off with a steel disc or at least with a steel backing behind the magnets to get more power. 50 turns per coil isnt very much for something like this; might be better to got to something like 23awg and cram as many turns in as possible to get as much voltage as you can get.