Author Topic: will the board live on  (Read 464 times)

hiker

• BIG DOG
will the board live on
« on: December 03, 2004, 04:00:06 AM »
without their sat. link will the dans close the board--that is if they are

unable to find an alternat link? hate to see this site go down-

im sure if they have to go with a more costly link--most of the members would

toss in thier dues..just my 2cents worth--then again it might cost me a lttle more..

well im going 10-7    later...
« Last Edit: December 03, 2004, 04:00:06 AM by (unknown) »
WILD in ALASKA

JeroenH

Re: will the board live on
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2004, 05:48:26 AM »
Surely their internet connection will be restored when their ISP finds either another satellite or when Intelsat launches their replacement satellite?

I have no experience with satellite internet connections whatsoever so I m ight be wrong, but this is what I would expect from the IPS. They want to keep delivering internet and keep making money.

« Last Edit: December 03, 2004, 05:48:26 AM by JeroenH »

Volvo farmer

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2004, 05:51:57 AM »
I think DanB still has an in-town property where some of the magnet business takes place. He did manage to get back to me after the satellite went down so it appears he has access to email, though infrequently and only when he goes to town. I believe this site is hosted independantly of Starband so is unaffected by the recent failure.

If these guys need money and ask for donations to keep the board open, I'm in there but I think Starband going down only affects their ability to get on the net in their remote location. It's surely a bummer trying to run an online business with no internet connection but from what I've read, Starband is working to move their service to a different satellite as we speak. There's another sattelte set to launch on Dec 18. My bet is that the Dans aren't going anywhere.

Volvo Farmer

« Last Edit: December 03, 2004, 05:51:57 AM by Volvo farmer »