Author Topic: Building Solar Thermal Collectors  (Read 621 times)

(unknown)

Building Solar Thermal Collectors
« on: June 03, 2004, 08:00:24 AM »
Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the forum but thought I'd share and collect some ideas for a project I'm working on.

I'm piecing together a solar thermal collection system to offset the cost of water heating in my home. The system is intended to suppliment hot water only and not be tied to heating of my home.

I started by putting together a small 1' x 10' copper tube/plate collector. Roughly sixty feet of 1/2" rigid copper tubing spot soldered to a 1' x 10' copper sheeting in a 2x4 frame. It's insulated with 1" foam board below and covered with a scrap sheet of aclar film stapled and taped around it's edges. There is also a temperature sensor clamped to one of the pipes via a hose clamp.

http://home.comcast.net/~rossfree/solar/solar10.jpg

http://home.comcast.net/~rossfree/solar/solar9.jpg

http://home.comcast.net/~rossfree/solar/solar12.jpg

My heat storage was a 30 gallon ice chest. I drilled a couple of holes in it's side and plumbed it to the collector. There is a small pond pump in the ice chest and when turned on it simply circulates the water from the ice chest through the collector and back into the ice chest. A second temperature sensor was placed in the ice chest.

http://home.comcast.net/~rossfree/solar/solar11.jpg

Control was by way of a PIC processor and minimal circuitry. With a simple program, the pump was turned on whenever the collector was 10 degrees F above the storage temperature and turned off when the collector was only 5 degrees F above. It also kept track of how long the pump was running during the day.

http://home.comcast.net/~rossfree/solar/solar6.jpg