Author Topic: Vanadium Redox Battery - Current Status  (Read 2997 times)

rnbraud

Vanadium Redox Battery - Current Status
« on: June 17, 2005, 10:23:51 PM »
Hello All,

New to the newsgroup, and have been absorbing it all for the past few weeks.

Geek by trade, tinkerer at heart.

I ran across an article awhile back about a Vanadium Redox Battery. Basically, a liquid electrolyte which can be charged up and stored "indefinitely".

Looks like all of the research took place back in the late 90's.

Just curious if anyone here has heard of it. Does it work as advertised? Seems like a perfect candidate for a homebuilt system.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: June 17, 2005, 10:23:51 PM by (unknown) »

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
Re: Vanadium Redox Battery - Current Status
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2005, 05:08:21 PM »
Yes

http://www.ceic.unsw.edu.au/centers/vrb/

Last contact I had with the makers they were too buisy with indudtrial instalations to be interested in donestic installations.

Maybe they are not all they are cracked up to be.

allan down under

« Last Edit: June 17, 2005, 05:08:21 PM by wpowokal »
A gentleman is man who can disagree without being disagreeable.

Drives

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2005, 05:11:16 PM »
I am unaware of the Vanadium Redox Battery, however I saw this.

It may be of interest.....Anybody have any decaying radioactive material laying around? :-)

http://www.technologyreview.com/articles/05/06/wo/wo_061605brown.1.asp

« Last Edit: June 17, 2005, 05:11:16 PM by Drives »

JW

• Development Manager
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Flashsteam.com
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2005, 05:41:58 PM »
Hi Rnbraud,

By nature, most of all of the batterys, utilize the mechanism of reduction/oxygenation(redox). And the charge/discharge schedule has a limited life-span of so-many cycles(charge/discharge/cycles). most batterys work off of hydrogen evolution and specific gravity.