Author Topic: DIY Vanadium Redux Batteries?  (Read 10463 times)

jondecker76

DIY Vanadium Redux Batteries?
« on: August 30, 2006, 06:05:28 PM »
I'd like to experiment with these, maybe by makign a small tabletop model first. I work in the chemical industry so I can get the materials I need.

My big question is what would I use for an Ion exchange membrane? Carbon?

thanks

« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 06:05:28 PM by (unknown) »

BigBreaker

Re: DIY Vanadium Redux Batteries?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 12:25:31 PM »
The electrodes are normally made out of carbon.  No membranes are necessary, as I recall.  The trick is going to be cooking up your vanadium solution.  I think it is carfeully disolved in concentrated sulphuric acid.  That's a detail the researchers like to gloss over.  There is a science and an art to getting the highest load of vanadium without having it precipitate out.

Vanadium is not that easy to get either.  It is a specialty steel additive and not exactly on the pharmacy shelf!  Your employment may offer you a source.

Good luck.  I was really interested in the technology at first.  Ultimately though I think fuel cells are a better bet.  The round trip efficiency for reforming your own fuel is lower but the power and energy density is much higher.  Wind is best for RE and it is "spikey".  Better to have huge storage and lower efficiency.  You'll grab all juice when it's available and you can have weeks of fuel at any given time.  Augment with lead acid for peaking and you have a great system.

« Last Edit: August 30, 2006, 12:25:31 PM by BigBreaker »

willib

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2006, 02:30:46 PM »
I would really like to experiment with Vanadium ions

i've read that when the solution is pumped through the ion exchanger (multiple ones stacked ) that you can charge and discharge at the same time and at different voltages

charge it at 12 v , discharge it at 48V , or you can charge it at 48V and discharge it at 24V