Author Topic: 12 volt dry charged  (Read 2005 times)

tljones

12 volt dry charged
« on: February 07, 2007, 01:22:01 AM »
Hello everyone!!!! I am a newbie, but this question seemed specific enough that this seemed much more the place to put it. I have spent at least 20 hours over the past month reading into these subjects and a lot of that on old posts on this site, but this is my first question.

I am an on grid resident in the frozen and very wind north of SD. I recently built a home on a very windy site, and am in the middle of my research and data gathering on what size I will build my turbine.  Also gathering information on an array of subjects. I have three kids and a wife who are very addicted to on demand power, and my home is 100% electric. I have gone a long long way into the efficiency side of things, and have a ways to go yet, but with the wind resource I have it is an obvious resource. I know however that I am never going all the way off the grid. Also SD is not a net metering state.

So I have found a source of a large quantity of surplus batteries that appear to have never been used. The following is a description.

BATTERY STORAGE, LEAD ACID, DRY CHARGED, 12 VOLT, SIDE POST, 74 SIZE, 60 AMP HOUR

I think I know what I am looking at. I am presuming that the dry charged means they have been stored without acid ever having been added. The side post tells me that they are not deep cycle, but the numebr of these available even if I was only using half of the amp hours would go though an inverter for a nice number of kilowatt hours of storage.

Is my math right???

12 volts X 60 amp/hours=.720 WATTS* 50% charge reserve =.31KWH per battery. If I had 50 of them I would have a 15.5kwh useful battery.

Two questions.

1. Tell the idiot what he is missing....
  2. If I were to get these batteries at some reasonable cost, would there be a better way of hooking them into a usable system to be created than leaving them as a large 12 volt bank???