Author Topic: DC Generator for Model Wind Turbine - Current Output  (Read 3771 times)

hardy101

DC Generator for Model Wind Turbine - Current Output
« on: January 29, 2008, 05:25:33 AM »
I'm a teacher planning a wind energy unit for my classroom.  I recently attended Michael Arquin's amazing Kidwind workshop in Fargo ND.  He uses and sells hobby motors that put out 3-4V max at moderate RPMs on a model turbine using a box fan as a wind source.  

I have tested some surplus DC hobby motors and found one that puts out 8V at even lower RPMs.  But the current is low enough that I can't even burn out a red LED hooked directly to the motor's terminals.  In other words, I have volts to spare, but little current.  Only about 80-90 mA.  Everyone talks about finding a low RPM hobby motor in order to generate adequate voltage with moderate wind speed.  I thought I hit the jackpot, but I don't think this motor will have enough power to do anything besides light up LEDs.  (I'm hoping to run miniature fuel cells, small motors, etc.)  What is this generator lacking that prevents it from generating enough current?  Is there a way to identify a good all around DC generator/motor for this purpose just by looking at its specs?

Thanks for your help!

Matt Hardy

« Last Edit: January 29, 2008, 05:25:33 AM by (unknown) »

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Re: DC Generator for Model Wind Turbine
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 11:03:30 PM »
Hi,

It won't be an enormous improvement, buy you will probably have more luck if you look very specifically for what are called "stepper motors".  What you describe as "small DC hobby motors" makes me think of the tiny things found in toys, so no wonder you can't get much out of them.