Author Topic: Misc. 10' Wind Turbine Questions - Part 2  (Read 2861 times)

arwenvaughan

Misc. 10' Wind Turbine Questions - Part 2
« on: April 19, 2009, 05:57:41 PM »
I am still working on the 10 foot wind turbine from the Homebrew Wind Power book, and have another set of questions. I've finished all the welding. Now I'm getting ready to cast the rotors and stator. I am a bit paranoid about these steps because I have never worked with resins before. Thanks in advance for any responses!!

1. I have Vinyl Ester Resin with 1/8 inch fiberglass and ATH fillers for the stator. The book says use a 50:50 mix of resin to filler material. My question is if I am planning to use both ATH and fiberglass strand as fillers, what ratio of those should I use?
  2. I was hoping to cast both rotors at the same time and did not want to build two wood molds or band the rotors. I can not find stainless banding in a small quantity and I don't have the ability to weld stainless anyway. So, has anyone tried to cast the rotors just using tape around the outside edge (and the wooden island, of course)to hold the resin in? It seems like a simple and cheap way to go.

Rotor

1. Would it be ok to use the vinyl ester resin or should I really use epoxy resin for the rotors. It seems a lot of people are opting for epoxy resin for the rotors now. I am a bit nervous that the vinyl ester will not adhere well to the rotor and magnets well.
  2. Also, what is the best way to prep the rotors for casting? One of my rotors is a bit rusty. Should I simply wire brush them, or do something more extensive to prepare the surface so the resin sticks really well.

Thanks!!!

« Last Edit: April 19, 2009, 05:57:41 PM by (unknown) »

Boss

• http://outfitnm.com
    • Outfit Renewable energy site
Re: Misc. 10' Wind Turbine Questions - Part 2
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 02:16:53 PM »