Author Topic: Help in Michigan - Wind Turbine  (Read 781 times)

JohnnyF

Help in Michigan - Wind Turbine
« on: December 22, 2005, 04:38:44 AM »
Howdy All:

I am just getting started in this arena and I am going to start out supplying power for my shop lights in the garage.  So my power needs are small to begin with.

What really got me started was that I found out I could get used batteries from where I work.  Most of the time they are 55AH or 32AH batteries that are about 1 year old.  So at the moment I have six 55AH and four 32AH Gell Cell, 12V batteries.  I have read a lot on this site and it doesn't appear I will really have much problem putting these different size batteries in parallel.  The batteries are free, so why not use them!  Now I just need a way to recharge them.

At the moment I have an 800 watt inverter, a small 6 watt solar panel and a bunch of other supplies.  I can get all this going but what I really need is someone in my area that is familiar with building their own wind turbine.

So I am looking for someone, within a reasonable distance, that would be willing to show me what they have done and give me some pointers on putting one together.

To start out with I would like to make something in the 4 or 5 foot diameter range.  I am also not sure what I can get away with in my area so I will start with something that won't be that high or obvious.  I live on the top of a nice sloping hill with an unobstructed view to the west.  So I get some pretty good wind up here.

I live in Swartz Creek Michigan, just west of Flint.

If anyone would like to share some of their knowledge, please drop me an e-mail.

headchef AT thebar-b-que DOT us

Thanks and Merry Christmas!

« Last Edit: December 22, 2005, 04:38:44 AM by (unknown) »

JohnnyF

Re: Help in Michigan - Wind Turbine
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2005, 08:10:10 AM »