Author Topic: Control Gurus Advice needed.  (Read 2470 times)

Garry

Control Gurus Advice needed.
« on: January 29, 2005, 12:41:21 PM »
What is needed to connect a wind generator to a

solar powered grid-tie inverter? SMA who

manufactures SunnyBoy inverters has modified

their inverters software to run more efficiently

with a given wind generator. If one limits the

open circuit voltage of the genny to a value

acceptable by the inverter and is not to

interested in the highest efficiency, what else

would be required. Please be gentle with your

explanations. I studied industrial control

electronics in the very early seventies and

never used the info since.

Thanks

Garry
« Last Edit: January 29, 2005, 12:41:21 PM by (unknown) »

Opera House

Re: Control Gurus Advice needed.
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2005, 05:56:15 AM »
If you have a constant source of wind, all you need is a shunt regulator with a good size capacitor bank.  The problem I see is what kind of load doesn't care if the power is there or not?  If you are just heating water you don't need a regulator.  Other devices need to be protected from low voltage.  The shunt regulator would also need to be shunting the same current as the load would be prior to turning on the load.  You may be generating the desired voltage but once the load is applied the mill would stop.

You question really can't be answered till you specify what your load is.  This question doesn't come up because a battery is far cheaper than the regulator solution.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2005, 05:56:15 AM by (unknown) »

Garry

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2005, 06:09:43 AM »
My load is the inverter dumping into the power grid. The grid tied solar inverter warns specifically against connecting to batteries.

Garry
« Last Edit: January 29, 2005, 06:09:43 AM by (unknown) »

wdyasq

Tie to a problem
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2005, 06:44:24 AM »
http://www.homepower.com/files/GS_9.pdf

Personally, I'm not a fan of grid tie.

Ron