Author Topic: 120v line loss to 90v at cabin  (Read 6182 times)

(unknown)

120v line loss to 90v at cabin
« on: August 11, 2005, 09:52:36 PM »
hello, everyone.  what a great resource!  My head is swimming about electrical stuff, and I've searched and read through the archives, but I don't find my answer.

I am a newbie to this all, but a pretty smart cookie, and find myself in a bit of a time crunch.  I have the opportunity to buy into a beautiful off-grid cabin (a life long dream) on a communal trust property with a year-round river and beautifully functioning micro-hydro generating plant (pelton wheel), that gives plenty of juice.  

The pelton wheels keep a 24v battery rack charged, and the juice is converted to 120vac and run to the nearby cabin (actually the system produces more than enough power...if anything, too much!)

Anyway, they ran a regular 120v buried electric line up the hill (about 1200 feet through rock)from the converter to my prospective cabin, but ...and here's the problem....the electricity arrives at 90v....due to what they call "line loss."   Poo.

The only thing I need electric power at the cabin for is my personal computer equipment and peripherials, and, if the gods will, my personal electronics (TV, home theatre)...the rest of the cabin's basic power needs are met alternatively, and I don't use high watt personal devices.

Is there a simple and elegant way to boost the arriving 90v to 120v to run my electronics?

I've been reading up on transformers (recommended by an electrical engineer), reburying  heavy line, automatic volatage regulators w/UPS, etc. etc....and about converting/inverting to and from 24/120/12....my head is swimming!  seems like there ought to be a little black box I can plug the 90v incoming into, and VOILA! out comes clean 120v...or am I dreaming?

any help/advice is appreciated. rewards are negotiable ;-)

my email is jtwining [at] peoplepc.com

joan  

« Last Edit: August 11, 2005, 09:52:36 PM by (unknown) »