Author Topic: Sun Tracker  (Read 1527 times)

David HK

Sun Tracker
« on: March 13, 2007, 08:28:05 AM »
For nearly two years I have been trolling around the Internet looking for a Sun tracker circuit that may be worth following. I have also looked at many circuit books and never come up with anything that is precisely what I want.

I think I have found it at last and it was designed by Richard Gideon and can be found at http://www.phoenixnavigation.com/ptbc/home.htm

The article containing the circuit and explanation was posted in April 2005.

After looking at the circuit layout I asked a few questions in the Forum area.

I decided to go ahead and build it and quite early on I realised that so many capacitors and resistors would be a nightmare to wire up on a small board. I decided to do something that I have never done before which is to make up my own two sided printed circuit board after down loading software from PCB Express - http://www.expresspcb.com/

PCB Express offers a special deal for three printed circuit boards if one can fit the entire circuit on a board of their size. This I managed to do and after fiddling a bit I suddenly realised how wonderful a two sided board was for jumping connector lines up and down. I sent off the order on a Thursday and the three boards were in my hands the following Tuesday afternoon.

Whilst the boards were being manufactured I went shopping for all the parts plus sundry items such as weatherproof boxes, relays switches and so on. Time was on my side and I made up most of the 12 volt hardware side before the printed circuit boards arrived.  In addition to the control circuits there are two other important items namely; the actuator and the light sensor.