Author Topic: another solar tracker (DIY)  (Read 14922 times)

mab

another solar tracker (DIY)
« on: April 27, 2011, 05:20:54 PM »
Hi folks,

Reading trackerJacks' post, I thought I'd post m own DIY tracker. I can't claim it to be original as the inspiration came from the redroc unit, but it works, it's simple, and it's been up and running since November 2009.

Besides, it's about time a contributed something to this forum as I've been sponging ideas off here for a couple of years.  ;).

This is the circuit diagram (hand drawn and poorly photographed, sorry). Basically two 5mm high-brightness red LED's positioned 45° east and west of the panel (and mounted so they turn with the panel) are wired in opposition.As long as they are seeing about the same amount of light the output from the opamp is about B+/2. If your using LED's as photosensors use reds - as you go through the spectrum from red to blue the signal you get out of them goes down.

the 1st op-amp is used as a high-gain low-pass amplifier. I used a 10Mohm feedback resistor but with hindsight I'd probably have used 1M or 3.3M. There's also a small capacitor (10nF) in parallel with the feedback resistor (but not marked on the circuit diagram). The op-amp is probably an LM301 or LF351 as I had a few of these lying about at the time.

The other four op-amps are used as comparators and are an LM324. the first comparator goes high if the signal exceeds the threshold set by trimmer pots. the output charges a capacitor via a resistor; I can't remember what value, but it was the highest value which didn't stop the capacitor from reaching the threshold of the next comparator. The resistor determines the time delay before the panel moves - to stop it chasing clouds across the sky. When the capacitor reaches B+/2 then the next comparator goes high operating the relay and driving the panel until the signal from the amp falls below the threshhold again. As the relays are 1600 ohm the LM324 can drive them directly.