Author Topic: rotor / stator design  (Read 4779 times)

Pecanguy

rotor / stator design
« on: February 14, 2013, 11:55:25 AM »
I hope I am in the correct section to ask this question.  I am new to wind turbine projects.  I am not an engineer but I work with my hands and want to build an axial flow 8 or 9 ft wind turbine and see it work.  I have read many articles and forums on the subject but am confused on the variations in design.  After looking at several designs, they all seem to be similar in construction.  I have viewed the following rotor/stator specs;

Scoraig plans 2002 / Hugh Piggott 2003
12 magnets / 10 coils - 5 phase ac connected in a star configuration cut-in 12
volts at 170 rpm

8 magnets / 5 coils - 3 phase ac connected in a star configuration

12 magnets / 9 coils - 3 phase ac

ITDG, Hugh Piggott
8 magnets / 6 coils - 3 phase ac connected in star configuration

Can someone with more experience tell me the differences in test performance in these designs. More coils or less coils, 3 phase or 5 phase. Does one style have more or less cogging, more or less stator heat and how does this relate to cut-in wind speed (rpm) and output?
Obviously, more magnets and wire slightly increase the cost.  I would like to take some of the guessing out of the project.
Any help will be appreciated.

gww

Re: rotor / stator design
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 04:05:11 PM »
If you want to take the guessing out of it buy hughs plans.  Then make one of them.  his plan will tell you before you make it what you can exspect and if you make it per the plan that is what you will get.  I made two of his 12 magnet ten coil turbines.  That was his old desine and if you read the stiky on the top of this forum's wind page about "adding line resistance" you will figure out his newer plans are better.  It's roughly $28 bucks to get it right.  Mine are 8' blades.  I believe with eight magnets (one rotor or two?)  That your blades will be smaller and faster.