Author Topic: is this site worth developing?  (Read 7321 times)

mike_belben

is this site worth developing?
« on: January 26, 2013, 12:05:38 AM »
im new to water power, curious what could reasonably be expected for wattage from this stream and if its worth of the effort to harvest power or just use it for irrigation. 

flows from my neighbors pond onto his logging road, then dips left into my property and bisects my long skinny lot into front and back.

i cant get to rear of lot without crossing stream.  most of it flows under ground, then pops up into a few branches here

unifies for a short bit

then exits into next neighbors yard. 

flows most of the year, this is avg to high flow shown.  not a lot of slope to the property, and not too much room to damn it up.  maybe 2 feet, 4 at the max before it creates problems with access road to rear of property.

what do you think? ive got a substantial battery bank in mind.

mike_belben

Re: is this site worth developing?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2013, 05:51:19 PM »
75 views and not a single opinion?  this is the quietest crowd i know.  :o

jlt

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 08:59:00 AM »
With low head you need a lot of volume to make any power. If you have The flow and the head figured out an estimate could be made for your power out put.

Ampair makes a small in stream turbine that might work for you. But the cost is about 1K . With that much money you could by a THOUSAD Watts of solar panels.
       JLT

XeonPony

• Global Moderator
  • Sanity is over rated!
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2013, 10:12:09 AM »
As said above you need either a lot of drop or alot of flow, you got neither by the looks of it, sorry mate best look into solar and a good gen set.
Ignorance is not bliss, You may not know there is a semie behind you but you'll still be a hood ornimant!