Author Topic: wire sizing  (Read 5571 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

thirteen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Country: us
  • Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
wire sizing
« on: February 12, 2013, 11:06:28 AM »
I thought I could go right to a chart for the capacity of amps on wire size. I cannot find the chart I used before.  I have a 24 v system and need to go either 420 ft or 375 ft from the solar panels to the control room. 5 panels 240 w 24v. ea panel is fused at 10 amps. 2 wires from the combiner box to controler. Could some one direct me to a chart. 13
 
MntMnROY 13

madlabs

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • Country: us
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 11:46:49 AM »
This what I use:

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

HTH,

jonathan

thirteen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Country: us
  • Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 11:50:08 AM »
thank you 13
MntMnROY 13

phil b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Country: us
Phil

Simen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 428
  • Country: no
  • Grimstad, Norway
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2013, 11:01:07 PM »
I made a cable calculator a while back where one can calculate needed size for a given length/load/max-loss, or loss in a given length/load. All in metric, though... ;)

A simple program that need little: http://mwlmf.net/prog/CableCalc11US.zip
:)
I will accept the rules that you feel necessary to your freedom. I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do. - (R. A. Heinlein)

thirteen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Country: us
  • Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2013, 01:27:32 PM »
5 - 24v 240w panels. The distance is about 375ft. 114.3 m.  Does the wires from the combiner box on a solar system to the controler both need to be the same size or can I have the neg side be smaller? Since I will not be running a ground wire from the solar panels to the controler panel. This cropped up in my mind. Trying to save a few bucks or jsut thinking to much. I will ground the panels right at the pole.  13
MntMnROY 13

Larsmartinxt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Country: no
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2013, 03:19:06 PM »
Both needs to be the same sizeas the same amount of current goes trough both wires

thirteen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
  • Country: us
  • Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
Re: wire sizing
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2013, 12:36:54 PM »
Yes! I thought about it after I sent it, I was letting $$ get in my way?
MntMnROY 13