Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 3445 times)

Pinkelephant

Newbie questions
« on: April 17, 2013, 01:00:06 PM »
My power goes out every 3-4 weeks and stays out for about 2-3 hours. My water pump goes dead so my wife is in a house with a 5 month old baby, holding a flashlight and she can't flush the toilet.

I planned a big fancy system using 12 golf cart batts and 100 amps of solar panels and I was looking at $4500 worth of toys. I then figured up what 60% of the charge capacity daily would be (keeping the batts above 40% charge) and came up with $3000 worth of usable electricity in 5 years (assuming I set up an automated system to efficiently use the energy that is available).

With the numbers I came up with, I talked myself out of that system and started from scratch.

I am planning to build a "set it and forget it" system that will maintain itself and work without assistance. I am a trucker and I am only home on the weekends.
I need the lights (2.5 people, 2 bed, 1 bath, dining room, kitchen, living room, outside lights. All CFL bulbs), shallow well water pump (just for toilet flushing), alarm clocks, hair dryer, microwave and the Sat-DVR to stay on. I probably dont want to put the 60" flatscreen on that list too.

I know solar/wind power will not pay for itself BUT if I add it, I can get the 30% tax credit for 3/4ths of my house rewiring project which would essentially pay for half of the panels.

Now from the begining (storage):
I'm looking at starting with 8-12 T105-RE batts and building a wheeled cart in my basement. The basement gets down to 48 degrees in the winter and has never gotten colder than that. I have my washer and dryer, my furnace and a large table saw down there too.
Should my cart be sealed up or should it breath? My inverter will be close to the batts on the cart and I will use stove plugs to connect the unit to the house so I can move it around.