Author Topic: Industrial Battery Info and Questions.  (Read 3716 times)

Cyric30

Industrial Battery Info and Questions.
« on: September 07, 2013, 07:02:00 PM »
Hello All,
long time member, but i usually just lurk, and sadly for me not in the storage section :(
please bare with me i am a novice to battery's and was not expecting to need this advice quite so soon.

Ive had my eye out for a used forklift battery at the local battery recycling center (i had several old battery's i could use as trad-ins, i got for free, so the cost to me was very low), they called me earlier in the week and said they had something for me too look at.

so they had a 12-85-11, 24,v 6hr. rates 425 amp Interstate  Powervolt Battery with a small 10 Amp (i believe) charger that bolts onto the side of the battery box, the owner told me to take the battery and charger and see if it charged (the charger didnt have the cord to the wall outlet, so they couldn't check it easy. was a very strange plug type, none of use had seen before.)
what info i have so far.

1: battery came from a plant that closed and everything was auctioned off.
2: has set unused for an undetermined length of time.
3: battery fluid was full, no plates showing, acid was clear.
4: hydrometer reading was low on all cells before charging.
5: volts before charging was 18.4
6: did not check volts in individual cells before charging.

7: i charged the battery for +8hrs (the chargers is supposed to auto shut off, but dosent seem to work or is an indication of something worse.)
8: battery volts right after after charge was 24.2
9: battery charge after setting 9hours (in the sun 90Degrees today. ive got to move it soon) was 23.3
10: 11 cells where in the 1.9 to 2.0 v range
11: 1 cell registered a 1.79
12: do not have a hydrometer where im at, and cant get to ones until Monday.

my questions are:

1: what else do i need to do to check this battery out?
2: where can i find a mfr date on a battery like this.?