Go to Otherpower.com Home Page Go to Forcefield Shopping Cart Go to Wondermagnet.com Home Page
Front Page - [Homebrewed Electricity-- (wind) (solar) (hydro) (steam) (controls) (storage) (mechanical)] - Classifieds - Site News
Everything - Newbies - [Remote Living-- (housing) (heat) (light) (water)] - Reviews - Diaries - Our Products
AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY


By bigwind, Section Wind
Posted on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 04:36:47 PM MST
AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY

I just like to pass this along to any potential buyers theres a ebay seller by the name of fuzzy_logic82 selling ameteks 37vdc and 40vdc relabeled as 30vdc ameteks as the 30vdc sell for $200 and over compare to the 37vdc and 40vdc around $100.  You can see in the picture the label has bin crudely glued on and of the factory ametek labels have rounded corners this one doesn't. He already sold a few of these i guess the buyers don't know any better. I hope some can put a stop to this scammer.

current one up for sale
http://cgi.ebay.com/_W0QQitemZ160367231968

sold items
160365445277
160363323323

Jack

AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY | 6 comments (6 topical)

Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (5.00 / 1) (#1)
by ghurd on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 05:01:33 PM MST

I had to go look at some of mine.  Yup, all have round corners.

The First thing that caught my eye on real labels is Ametek and the address look printed at a print shop, nice clean and solid print.  Look a little bit gray.
The other numbers are clean dot matrix. 'Dark black'. (?)

The fake label looks like it has voids in Ametek, and the dot matrix printing look like they have run together.

If you really wanna get your panties in a twist, check out his #160361626996, same thing, 43 bids and he sold it for $255.
G-
Ghurd.info



Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (3.00 / 0) (#2)
by Tritium on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 05:18:22 PM MST

Quit fooling around and turn him in to e-bay for fraudulent activity.

Thurmond



Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (3.00 / 0) (#3)
by Perry1 on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 06:33:54 PM MST

Hmmmmm,
Are you sure they aren't 30V's? Companies often use variations on simple parts such as stickers. Is it enough to say these stickers have square corners therefore they are all fakes? I guess I will check mine.
Don't get me wrong, I love catching ebay wind scams. Most are overrating of power, this would be the first overt scam I have seen.
Perry


[ Parent ]


Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (3.00 / 0) (#4)
by Jerry on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 07:42:45 PM MST

I have a few of the older Ameteks. They are a longer then any thing I see know.

Almost twice? Why is that?

                               Jerry

Airheads Page


[ Parent ]



Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (3.00 / 0) (#5)
by bigwind on Sun Oct 04, 2009 at 08:52:21 PM MST

ghurd, Didnt see that one you can even see the corner peeling up on that pic. Also another way to tell is a factory label is made from a thin nylon film not paper.

Perry1, I did see a label like this before but the seller just sold one and he told me he printed it, but this seller is selling one after the other. These labels are tough and don't come off easy. The only reason someone would do this is to rip people off.

I have handle hundreds of them never seen one label like this. All have rounded corner or painted direct on the motor. Also If you look there is a groove i the center of the shaft on the this one http://cgi.ebay.com/_W0QQitemZ160367231968 I only seen these on the 40v also look at the connector same here a pic of a 40v.
http://siliconsalvage.com/images/ebay/motors/ametek116870-00.jpg.
One more thing the thread hole at the end of the shaft, never seen this on any 30v.

Jack              




Re: AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY (3.00 / 0) (#6)
by SACONGO on Sat Oct 10, 2009 at 12:08:45 AM MST

yea something ain't right.... There feedback looks good? I guess Buyer beware..

i can not believe the prices these little things sell for,,,its crazy



AMETEK SCAM ON EBAY | 6 comments (6 topical)
Menu
· create account
· How to use the board
· FAQs
· search the board
· Google search the board

Login
Make a new account
Username:
Password:

Total Views
  155 Scoop users have viewed this posting.

Related Links
· http://cgi .ebay.com/_W0QQitemZ160367231968
· Also by bigwind

Powered by Scoop
You must be a registered user to post here. It's easy and free, and the link is on the upper right side of your page.
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective companies. Postings are owned by the poster, but may be deleted or moved at the ADMIN's sole discretion. The Rest © 2009 Forcefield.
You can Email the board ADMIN here. PLEASE include the username you signed up with!