Author Topic: The Inverter Load Sensor Saga Begins!  (Read 2911 times)

baggo

The Inverter Load Sensor Saga Begins!
« on: September 17, 2004, 01:20:06 PM »
First a big thanks to all who replied to my posting asking for ideas for a DIY load sensor. You have given me quite a few ideas to work on.

Perhaps I should say now that although I have been tinkering with electronics for about 45 years now since I was a young child inspired by my fathers own electronic interests ( He built a TV from scrap radar equipment so that the family and neighbours could watch the Queens' coronation in 1953 ) my methods are mainly try it and see if it works. If it doesn't work play around with it till it does! I've never been a great fan of the theoretical side of things.

At the moment I am using a Statpower 800i inverter to power all my house lighting which consist of cfl's and strip flourescents converted to electronic ballasts. The inverter is run off a 12 volt 110 Ahr Leisure battery which at the moment is kept charged by two 80 Watt solar panels mounted on a homemade tracker. I intend to replace the one battery with 4 Trojan T105's wired as 24 volt as soon as funds allow. I have already got several 24 volt inverters that I bought cheap as faulty and repaired.

So at the moment power is precious and I can't afford to waste any leaving the inverter switched on all the time. The inverter is downstairs so tends to be left on all night when I go to bed so it's often on for 8 hours at a time when it's not needed. In common with most of the cheaper inverters the Prowatt has no load sensing 'Search' mode so I decided to try and devise a simple external solution to this that could be applied to any similar inverter.

Basically the circuit needs to see when a load across the inverter output is switched on and then switch the inverter on to supply the load. When the load is switched off, the circuit needs to switch off the inverter. Quite easy in theory but perhaps not so easy in practice.