Author Topic: My Solar setup  (Read 2231 times)

afgatrost

My Solar setup
« on: May 02, 2012, 10:27:36 PM »
I am new to this business, but I put a system in last summer and I can tell you about it.  I "plunked" down lots, because I like sturdy.  Thankful for the utility incentive and Federal rebate.  At least I hope it is sturdy.  I ended up with 12- 230W BP panels.  Prices have gone down since last summer.  I used a 48 volts system at 840 Amp hrs, Rolls Surrett's.  I went with an Outback system.  Fire Mountain Solar was very helpful with the wiring as was the Outback company in answering the many questions I had.   I have 80 ft trees, so in the winter I pick up a bit of shading.  :(  I still pretty well averaged 3.5 kwh/day.  This last month of April I averaged a little bit over 10 kwh/day.  One interesting note was that after a rain, I can get more than the 2760W max, because the air is so clean.  :)  With the wet cell, which I have I would recommend a watering system.  Takes 5 seconds once a month.  I am using mine for standby, so they stay charged waiting for a storm.  Last time we didn't even know it went off till our son came up and said his computer went out, then I asked but you have lights.  :)  I have most lights, and plugs on the system, not the electric oven or septic aireator.  So I have included transfer switches if the utility cuts me off when the grid goes down, if necessary.  (I had to put a utility cut off)  It has helped to go to the 9 w (40Watt) LED.  So now in the kitchen I turn on 18 watts instead of 160 watts.  My table saw (2hp) kicks out the inverter, so it is off the system.  Another thing of interest I have a ~18cf fridge and about same size chest freezer that are energy stars and they use about 1.5kwh/day each.  The most that I have made so far is 16.5kwh, but have only been up and running since September 2011.  Rambled enough but it was fun rambling, even if no one reads it.  :)

Bruce S

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus