Author Topic: motorized furling  (Read 3669 times)

pepa

motorized furling
« on: September 27, 2006, 04:02:36 PM »
Hi folks, do to some medical problems, I have not been able to do any shop work for a while and could only think about what is needed to be done. Very boring work when you don't have anything to think with. Like most of the people on this site, I try to keep up with current post and the problems that are posted along with the good work that is done. I would like for you to look at the project that I came up with and give me your take on the merits of it working or not. Not having the electronic abilities that I would like, I have had to use materials that I have some experience with and that I thought would do the job. I know that there are better ways, but if it works! Item description - automatic furling or yaw. #1 system sets 99% of the time doing nothing until needed. #2 thermostat activates electric circuit to motor when stator starts to overheat #3 motor moves sliding weight on tail boom to lighten tail and cause machine to yaw (very little movement is needed). Weight is stopped by a kill switch. #4 tail furls to yaw windmill until thermostat cools down. Circuit is inactive, tail stays light, circuit needs to be reset... #5 anemometer keeps track of wind direction. #6 thermostat cools and activate a new circuit to move the weight back to its original position. Kill switch stops motor in original position. #7

Circuit is ready for next round of overheating. any help will be welcome thanks, pepa

« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 04:02:36 PM by (unknown) »

DanG

• 35 miles east of Lake Okeechobee
Re: motorized furling
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 01:08:41 PM »
First though is about using glass-tube reed switches for limit switches, they make some w/ decent current handling and also double-pole... only gotcha would be possible false contact-make if switch specifications do not reject falses when vibrations hit its known resonances...