Author Topic: power from running a hose?  (Read 2900 times)

turboredcart

power from running a hose?
« on: August 19, 2007, 01:11:08 AM »
i had in mind- a way that running water would spin a wheel that would charge up a battery-this would generate power. Watrer rates in my town are the same price weather I use 1 ounce or an ocean.

i am new to this whole field- s0=im trying to figure out the logistics.

1. how many watts I could expect.
  2. how to proceed.

in 2009 deregulation is total in my state- they predict utilities will tripple in price. meanwhile- solar rebate help -is stalled- the legislation. [for PA]

Help??

« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 01:11:08 AM by (unknown) »

turboredcart

Re: power from running a hose?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2007, 07:14:05 PM »
I would also connect such a system to a 3 story water fall-list up.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2007, 07:14:05 PM by turboredcart »

pepa

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2007, 07:37:35 PM »
someone will have to pay for that water and you need some place to put it after you finish with it. if you have a irigation system or a recirculating system for a large pool you might make a few watts, but someone will still have to pay for moving the water. i have a large inground pool and run the pumps about eight hours a day for filtration and a little gadget that i call packman that runs all over the pool sides and bottom vacuming up any loose material it passes over. the water pressure from the circulating sysrem powers the wheels and it is strong enough for the grand kids to ride. something like that might work but i still have to pay for the power to run the pumps when i domt have enough wind. pepa
« Last Edit: August 18, 2007, 07:37:35 PM by pepa »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2007, 07:57:54 PM »
turbo;

All I can say is this is really silly. The water is pumped up to height after it is treated. This would make it a energy waster on several levels.