Author Topic: Delco Generator low output  (Read 8987 times)

nmwindrider

Delco Generator low output
« on: May 14, 2008, 10:14:16 PM »
I am new to wind power this is my first windmill. I am planing on making several as time and money are available.  

I purchased 12v Delco generator on ebay i am only getting about 6 to 8 amps into my batteries with a wind speed of about 25 mph. with the batteries disconnected I get about 90v. How can I get more power. The windmill was sold as a 1Kw system. I don't expect to get this much but would like to get more then i am.

I have 6 6V 225ah batteries in 3 groups of 2 for a 12v system.

The 1000W inverter that I have shuts down at 11.3v does anyone have any suggestions? I have thought about reconfigering the batteries into 2 groups of 3 for 18v and then to the inverter to deeper cycle the batteries.

I have several things to experment with. A GE drier that has a 10 to 1 ratio gear box on the back of the drum, an electric boat moter, and an angle grinder with a 4 t0 1 ratio.

Any help or seggestions would be appreciated.

thanks

NMWindrider

« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 10:14:16 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: Delco Generator low output
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 05:33:14 PM »

1. car alternators don't make very good wind turbines no matter what you do to them.
  2. buying a wind turbine off eBay is one of the fastest ways to get ripped off there is unless you really know what you are looking for.
  3. your inverter shuts down when the battery voltage gets to low to keep you from totally destroying your batteries and really if you want to get a long life out of them you would never discharge them low enough that the inverter shuts off on low voltage except in an emergency.  

« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 05:33:14 PM by kurt »

jonas302

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 07:35:26 PM »
The inverters I have played with also cut out above 15 volts

google the board there has been a few alternator conversions done with magnets