Author Topic: 12Volt ......START  (Read 1163 times)

lucas

12Volt ......START
« on: May 01, 2009, 04:13:47 PM »
Well here goes,

I'm new at this and don't know a whole bunch about motor theory, but from what i see you guys build and what i read from some old basic electricity text books, I'll give it a shot.

I want to build a basement where my 14' tall crawl space is, and I want to use all my electricity from Wind,solar,and possibly sterling engine production(12volt systems ).My goal is to go all HOME BREW with the intent to go completely OFF GRID. With that in mind I still have some more digging to do, and concrete to lay.

All the help , ideas , drawings , books , and  links would be greatly appreciated.

Luke

« Last Edit: May 01, 2009, 04:13:47 PM by (unknown) »

scottsAI

Re: 12Volt ......START
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 07:00:38 PM »
Lucas,

Need to ask questions a bit more focused.

Searching web for general stuff works better. And here.

Skip the Stirling engine. Practical engines are expensive, very difficult to make. Looks simple enough. Steam engine are more practical.

Have fun,

Scott.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2009, 07:00:38 PM by scottsAI »

RandomJoe

• Joe's Time-Waster
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 09:00:42 PM »
My first thought is, "why 12V?"  Do you have a pre-existing reason to select that voltage?

If you don't, I'd suggest going for a higher voltage - 24 or 48V - especially if you want to take a house completely off-grid.  (Although just what that entails could vary - do you intend to completely forgo an inverter and 120VAC appliances and such?)

In my case, my primary usage is already 12V (ham radio bench) so I chose to stay with that.  Were it not for the radios, I'd definitely have chosen a higher voltage - probably 48V.  Even as it is, I still occasionally consider that idea.  I just can't quite bring myself to run an inverter then power supply back to 12VDC for the rigs, though!