Author Topic: Chimney cleaning time  (Read 4243 times)

DanF

• Administrator
Chimney cleaning time
« on: September 05, 2005, 06:54:34 PM »
It's that time of year -- everyone that heats with wood should be thinking of giving that chimney a scrub before winter.

I gave DanB my Riteway for his shop, and got Matt's old Shenandoah from John (it's a complicated story.....). When we pulled my Riteway, I inspected the chimney, and it doesn't need cleaning once again.....haven't swept it in 3 years.

The reasons:

1. I don't let my stove smolder slowly any longer than over night, and in that case I fire it up very hot in the morning to burn off accumulated creasote.
  2. I start every fire very hot with newspaper and my paper trash....I let it roar for a few minutes while starting it up.
  3. I burn more aspen than pine, much cleaner, though less heat per log.
  4. I'm a firefighter and respond to many woodstove -caused house and chimney fires. I don't EVER stoke my stove and let it smolder before leaving for town, and instead rely on my propane heater with thermostat. Too many things can happen with a burning stove while you are away.
  5. And, on the fire protection topic, I don't ever run my generator and battery charger while I'm gone....after woodstoves, that's the leading cause of structure fires in my response area.

DANF

« Last Edit: September 05, 2005, 06:54:34 PM by (unknown) »

RobD

Re: Chimney cleaning time
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 06:09:21 AM »
I rarely have to clean my fireplace either Dan. I have a thing called a Tulikivi with a bake oven and it is designed to run hot, heat up the large soap stone mass and then go out so basically I'm burning similar to you.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2005, 06:09:21 AM by RobD »

windstuffnow

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2005, 02:01:36 PM »
  DanF,