Author Topic: Fireplace vents  (Read 10096 times)

DBGenerator

Fireplace vents
« on: February 07, 2008, 07:53:56 PM »
Attached are two picture of my fire place.  There are 4 vents on the front.  Two at the top and two at the bottom.  They are pretty effective.  I put a fan on one of the bottom vents to try to force more heat through.  It kind of works.  I think I need to put something around the fan to force the air through better.  I was thinking I should put some vents just the same on the other side of the fireplace to help heat up the hallway and the rest of the house?

« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 07:53:56 PM by (unknown) »

Birdmmjb

Re: Fireplace vents
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2008, 08:53:39 PM »
Hi.  I'm no experte on the subject but my experince with a fire place with vents was that they will work you to death feeding them with very little heat gain except for the heat you generate cutting the wood.

After trying to heat my house with a fireplace like yours I put in a Buck stove.  What a difference it took less and 1/4 of the wood per day and heated the entire house (sometimes too well) where we were not even keeping the living room warm before.

Just an little bitty tippy.

Jan

« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 08:53:39 PM by Birdmmjb »

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2008, 09:46:40 PM »
Bird;

Pretty much exactly what I was going to say. Fireplaces suck as heaters unless you like cutting wood and feeding the thing. Some improperly set up units are a net loss on heat from drafting out room air, too. I would at least go with an insert.

TomW

« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 09:46:40 PM by TomW »

Micheal

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 07:29:33 AM »