Author Topic: A Straw Bale House?  (Read 24391 times)

DigitalMind

A Straw Bale House?
« on: November 28, 2007, 03:57:25 PM »
I'm pretty much just copying and pasting from a recent Blog entry of mine.  It seems to fit in here very nicely and could always use people's opinions.  I'm new to this and just learning, but would REALLY love to build my own home, and this seems like the only way I could actually pull it of myself.

In my quest to get myself land and a home for the least amount of money possible, I have discovered Straw Bale Houses. Essentially, they are houses made of straw that are better than traditional houses in many ways. They are better insulated, better fire rating (Yeah that one surprised me too, but it's really condensed straw, have you ever tried to burn a phonebook?), and better sound proofing. Obviously though, the walls are about 3 -4 times thicker than regular walls, so you lose some space. In my case I plan on having plenty of space to build on so it won't matter.There are 2 main ways to put up a straw bale house :

1 - the Post and Beam set-up. This involves putting up a wooden post and beam structure for the 4 corners that will hold up the roof. So basically you make the Frame for a house like you would any other house, and then fill it in with Straw Bales. (More on this later) This method is best because it's a lot easier to get the building permits and insurance after.

Image from Solarhaven.org

2 -Load Bearing straw bale design, essentially it's when you literally put the roof directly on top of the straw bale walls. This involves needing to compress the straw bale walls before putting the roof in order to compensate for the settling of the walls later.