Author Topic: Newbie - Hydro site options  (Read 1947 times)

gizmoguy

Newbie - Hydro site options
« on: March 09, 2009, 04:50:13 PM »
Hello,

I am new to hydro power and am making the generator described in the 10' turbine plans but would like to turn it with the creek in my backyard.  My question is this:  Am I better off building a 4' dam with a Banki turbine or water wheel?  Or another idea I've had is based on forcing the creeks water through a funnel into a tunnel of sorts at the bottleneck with a impeller in it.  What would you guys recommend looking at the pics?

It fills a 5 gallon bucket in about 3/4 of a second at normal flow in the chute after the dam so I'm guessing that I have around 350 gallons a minute.  It doesn't get much less than this but can get many times more in a heavy rain.  The river also carries many branches/trash/silt during storms.

Any suggestions/help are appreciated.  The rock dam in the pictures was built by me for looks, it can easily be removed.

If I built a dam I think that the large vertical rock on the left(second picture) would make a good brace for the dam.  Both sides of the creek go up at least 9' and there is about 9' of drop before the neighbors property so nothing would be flooded

Thanks,

Bill

« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 04:50:13 PM by (unknown) »

spinningmagnets

Re: Newbie - Hydro site options
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2009, 12:10:48 PM »
Dear gizmoguy, I'm jealous! When I retire I plan on having 2 wind-turbines and a ground-mount tracking PV array.

But what I most want is a property with a viable hydro resource. Here's a good story I saved that is useful with 7'-15' head.

The Romans built a set of cascading water wheels in series to mill grain at a place called Barbegal. Your property has enough slope you could have a PalangThai Kaplan, a Banki, and a Poncelet!

Best of luck!

http://www.fieldlines.com/story/2008/6/22/191210/965

« Last Edit: March 09, 2009, 12:10:48 PM by spinningmagnets »

Lowhead