Author Topic: Harris hydro field adjustment  (Read 5222 times)

joe8120

Harris hydro field adjustment
« on: August 27, 2009, 05:37:29 AM »
I have been running a Harris hydro turbine for several years and it works very well. Head - 45 ft., Flow - max 30gpm in winter and spring, minimal/no flow in summer, about 210 ft. of 2 in. pvc penstock. The turbine is the permanent magnet version, wired for 24V, and I usually get about 120 watts during max flows. A few questions:

1. I have read the manual on the field adjustment and don't understand the purpose of the adjustment or the instructions in the manual on how to adjust. Under what conditions would you adjust the field? I have a key which looks like a chuck for a drill and I know you insert it somehow into the turbine probably when it isn't spinning. Other than that I'm at a loss. If possible, keep the comments simple as I am not an electrician.
  2. The turbine is single nozzle. How difficult is it to add another nozzle? I can get another nozzle tube and it would seem that I would have to drill out the blank where the tube is placed. There also are several screws and what appears to be caulking material in the existing nozzle tube to keep it in place. Or perhaps I should send it somewhere to get another nozzle tube installed. Another nozzle would be helpful in adjusting the flow into the turbine as well as increasing the flow during high volume times of the year.

Thank you. Great forum.

Joe

« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 05:37:29 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Harris hydro field adjustment
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 02:11:35 PM »
I don't know your machine well enough to tell you how to adjust the field. If it is wound field then it would have a rheostat. Some of those are permanent magnet and if you have a key it is probably used to alter the air gap or a magnetic shunt.