Author Topic: 9" pipe 4 meter head, Any potential here ?  (Read 2203 times)

abhainnbeag

9" pipe 4 meter head, Any potential here ?
« on: May 10, 2006, 11:01:07 AM »
Hi to all on the forum

I am a newbie so as with all newbies (a lot of questions and no answers I am afraid) at least for a while anyway !

Its great to find a site of like minded individuals looking forward to exchanging information as soon as I learn a bit !

I  have a small stream running on 2 sides of my garden  (I own about 130 meters of riverbank)

For the past 4 months I have carried out a survey on the flow in the stream . (measuring the height of water at a given point every 5 days )

When I do a flow measurement I can correlate this flow info with the survey info to give me a idea of average yearly flow

I plan to do a flow measurement in the next few weeks. (that will be fun)

I know that I cannot calculate any energy potential without this valuable piece of information !

Winter will not be a problem (loads of water ) its summer I am a bit concerned about !

I wish to install a turbine that can give me in excess of 500W to make the project viable. I estimate  return on investment  in about 4 years approx if 500w is available

I will do most of the work myself as I am from an engineering background  but unfortunately not electrical nor hydro turbines

My strengths would be machining, welding, fabrication and civil work.

I have a good grasp of the whole principle but please excuse the rather fundamental questions you are liable to hear in my posts !

Without having the exact flow figures  I am pretty certain that I can fill a 230mm bore smooth plastic pipe that will have to run 130 meters having a head of 4 meters

I plan to dam the river upstream to create a 1meterr deep pool to guarantee the filling of the pipe