Author Topic: Looking for feedback on my hydro project  (Read 2734 times)

Lowhead

Looking for feedback on my hydro project
« on: April 11, 2007, 01:45:26 AM »
Hello all.  I have been lurking here for a few months and finally am ready to join in this discussion forum.  I am a mechanical engineer who has always had an interest in hydro power and have decided that the time is right for me to try to move forward with my little project.  I have put together a crude web site on googlepages with some pictures of my site and hopefully all the pertinent information. If anyone has any comments or feedback, I would appreciate some.  The site has some historical info regarding the old mill and is there mostly to schmooze my local conservation commission. Feel free ignore it.

Lowhead

« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 01:45:26 AM by (unknown) »

hiker

• BIG DOG
Re: Looking for feedback on my hydro project
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2007, 08:12:17 PM »
« Last Edit: April 10, 2007, 08:12:17 PM by hiker »
WILD in ALASKA

willib

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2007, 08:30:17 PM »
Others have more expierence than me in hydro , but it seems to me that you have two options

one is to use the dam water pressure at the bottom of the dam , by drilling a hole in the dam or several, and piping the flow to individual pelton wheels ?

that would depend on the the depth of the water at the dam ?

the other option , again as i see it, is to use a water wheel spanning the dam , generating more torque than a single slimmer wheel?

just some ideas of mine.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2007, 08:30:17 PM by willib »
Carpe Ventum (Seize the Wind)

Nando

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2007, 11:12:49 PM »
Why don't you explain in a short sentence what you have in water volume and head.

Going to your site to read and read and read, trying to see what your program is, does not call my attention.

I have hydro experience and if you want a GRID tied system I could say :