Author Topic: Submerged Hydro Generator  (Read 1662 times)

drobertson

Submerged Hydro Generator
« on: January 15, 2008, 03:56:34 AM »
Hello

I am working on a project to capture some of the energy in our local tidal flow.  We have a marina that extends aprox 120 ft out into the local harbor.  Due to the way the harbor is shaped we get considerable water flow by the docks.  It peaks 4 times a day with roughly 2 knot currents.  This is incoming flow at low tide and outgoing flow at high tide.  The water at the docks is roughly 12 ft deep.

My vision is to build impellers attached to low RPM alternators.  A row of these would be placed under the docks.  The electricity would be fed into a standard PV charger/electric management system and then used for lights and dock power.

To be honest, I am a newbie to this so I was hoping to get some ideas, tips and tricks from more experienced people.  I am very good at constructing gadgets and I am pretty solid with electronics.  The tuning of the low RPM alternator looks like magic to me at this point but I am willing to put some time in to learn.  Ideas for the impeller/turbine design would be very helpful.

In exchange I am more than willing to share the experience and any information that comes out of the design and build process.

Oh, I do have a few restrictions/considerations.  These units have to work completely submerged with water that flows in two directions.  They also have to be able to handle the thrust from large boats that dock at the marina.

Thanks for any help you are willing to give.

-Doug

« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 03:56:34 AM by (unknown) »

thirteen

• Single going totally off grid 1,1, 2013
Re: Submerged Hydro Generator
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 06:44:23 PM »