Author Topic: Micro-Hydro Elect. System from Pump  (Read 3648 times)

cookgraygoose

Micro-Hydro Elect. System from Pump
« on: September 22, 2008, 07:25:30 AM »
This is my first post here, I'm a newbie to renewable energy. I'm on one of the best chicken forums in the world...I say world because we have members everywhere.  We can ask a question and members and experts in different fields of poultry answer and help solve our problems or others who have had the same difficulties can share how they overcame the obstacles.  I'm no expert at anything.  But I love my chickens, guineas and peacocks and I truly appreciate the support and friendships we have developed on our chicken forum.  I can't wait to connect everyday.

I have hope that this is another positive problem solving forum that will encourage newbie's in the exploration and development of micro hydro systems.  I try to check for answers and mail twice a day or at least before calling it a night. With grand kids and animals it can get hectic around the farm at times.

I am truly interested and excited about the possibility of developing a grid tied battery based micro-hydro electrical system.  I am trying to learn as much as fast as I can.  The information on the systems that I'm looking at don't seem to be readily available.  I guess it's just new or as yet unavailable.  Nowhere have I seen information on pump based systems.  These pumps would make the systems available to a vast number of farms that already have ponds and large pumps available.  Our pumps are very small compared to the giant irrigation pumps on a lot of the farms around here.  I say that with the sure knowledge a chicken friend of ours is now paying out around $5000 a month for her electricity from a REA.  These ponds would provide an endless base of water to recirculate and these systems would pay for themselves in a reasonable amount of time if do-able. The water would be recycled right back into the ponds.