Author Topic: long wire runs with solar panels  (Read 1203 times)

quidnon

long wire runs with solar panels
« on: October 24, 2007, 08:43:30 PM »
Hi All!

Newbie here - great forum and very good advice!

Here's the deal - put together an inexpensive 12V 80W array I scrounged together with spare parts and panels from various places: 4 (15W) panels from Northern and a used, single (20 W) BP Solarex panel, got them all for less than $300.  Using a 7A "solar force" charge controller feeding a bank of 2 ~100AH marine deep cycle batteries.  Splurged and bought a new Trimetric 2020 meter monitior.  System works well for my off grid extremely isolated mountain shack running the self composting toiled fans (~0.6A) asnd several 12 lights, fans.

Now the question...

To get any sun, I needed to place the array ~100-150ft away from the shack.  I ran #10 UF cable from the array to the controller.  I'm aware that this is likley outside the "acceptable" limit for voltage drop - I'm estimating that at best, I've getting no more than 4-5A from the array. Rather than go to a larger guage wire (can't afford it now), would it be possible to "double up" the #10 wire to get an acceptable voltage drop?  If so, how could I estimate my "effective wire gauge"?

Thanks for all the help and suggestions!

Best

Wayne

« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 08:43:30 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: long wire runs with solar panels
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2007, 05:33:21 PM »
rule of thumb is when you double up on wire it is tha same as going 3 wire gages larger so 2 #10 would be equivelent to 1 #7 wire  you can check an online wire drop calculator to see if that would get you acceptable loss.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 05:33:21 PM by kurt »

kurt

• website
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2007, 05:40:56 PM »
voltege drop calculator http://nooutage.com/vdrop.htm
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 05:40:56 PM by kurt »

tecker

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2007, 05:47:33 PM »