Author Topic: Generator Output Amps to Charger  (Read 2010 times)

BoroDave C

Generator Output Amps to Charger
« on: March 04, 2009, 04:30:36 PM »
Hello all,

New to the board and look forward to learning and adding any of my experiences/ knowledge. I'm relatively new to alternative off grid living but have quite an appetite for new and better ways of doing the "norm."

I've been trying to wrap my head around a couple of things lately and was hoping someone could shed some light.

If my generator puts out 33.3 amps at 120 volt and half that amperage for 240, what amperage is actually being sent to the battery charger and what is the formula to determine the maximum amount of amps being deliver into the battery bank?

This providing there are no inefficiencies, heat loss, wire loss, etc...

My system is as follows:

Lister generator 6 hp, 4k head, w/ two legs of 120v for 240 volt sent to a 5kva 240 - 120 volt transformer.

This is sent into a midnight solar e-panel with a modified magnum 3924 watt inverter/120 amp charger hanging on the front.

The battery bank is made up of 16 Trojan T-105's hooked up in 4 strings of 4 for a 24 volt bank.

Note: I have not discharged my batteries below maybe 75% so I have never seen the charger display read higher then 60 amps or so.

« Last Edit: March 04, 2009, 04:30:36 PM by (unknown) »

bob g

• 8.8kwatt idi diesel thermal conversion unit
    • microcogen.info
Re: Generator Output Amps to Charger
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 09:59:29 AM »
your asking a question that cannot be simply answered with any precision

how much amperage is being delivered to the charger? that will depend on how much load there is on the charger, for instance

if the charger is 120volt input

and you are putting out 30 volts and 20amps

take the 30volts x 20amps =600watts

600watts/120volts = 5amps

so in this example the quick and dirty answer is 5amps input at 120volts gives you 30volts at 20amps output, but