Author Topic: My first Mill - Newbie in UK - Spain  (Read 4635 times)

(unknown)

My first Mill - Newbie in UK - Spain
« on: January 28, 2010, 06:04:52 AM »
I have been lurking here for a short while and was determined not to ask any stupid questions as all the answers are already here.  But now my head just hurts.  Sorry . . I tried really, really hard!

I live in the UK and have a remote off-grid property in Northern Spain.  I am building my project in the UK for use in Spain.  Unfortunately, I have little experience of the prevailing wind conditions at the deployment site.

My existing system comprises two 6 V 560 Ah lead acid batteries connected in series into a 1000 W 240 V inverter which I charge using the 50 A alternator fitted to my car.  My electrical demands are small - one 11 W bulb and a 60 W TV or lower power radio a few hours most days.  I have an 850 W microwave but used it only once before realizing it is too power hungry.  In practice I fire the car up for half an hour or so every few days and then I'm good to go.  I suspect I am using no more than 500 WH per day.

I have built many virtual wind generators, the 7 ft and 10 ft Volvo hub based otherpower designs and I even put together an imaginary 10 ft mill using the current "No Volvos were Hurt in the Making of this Machine" design.  Before I pick up a real piece of metal though I decided I better get something - anything - working in the real world, hence the acquisition of the Reebok RT1000 Treadmill motor I just bought:

Specifications: 2.25 HP Continuous duty at 230 Vdc, 9.5 A.  Speed is not specified so I powered the motor with a 9 Vdc supply and observed rotation speed of 210 rpm - 23 rpm per Volt. Approx 5366 rpm at rated supply voltage.  A search on google turned up other motors for this same treadmill rated at a different voltage but at 6000 rpm.  I therefore assume my motor is a 6000 rpm device, requiring 26 rpm per Volt.