Author Topic: 3 phase coils  (Read 2587 times)

gordon01639

3 phase coils
« on: December 19, 2006, 11:29:30 PM »
Hi I am new to windpower but am experimenting with PM alternators, I have noticed that when wired as a three phase alternator the ratio of magnets to coils seems to change for example 12 magnets 9 coils. I was wondering why this is? what difference if any does it make to the alternators performance? if anyone can furnish an explanation I would be grateful.

Gordon.

« Last Edit: December 19, 2006, 11:29:30 PM by (unknown) »

harrie

Re: 3 phase coils
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2006, 10:19:18 PM »
I will give it a try, 3 phase duel rotor

1. mags, 9 coils== three coils per phase
  2. mags, 12 coils = four coils per phase
  3. mags, 15 coils = 5 coils per phase
  4. mags, 18 coils== six coils per phase.

must have even number or mags, to get even number of North poles, and even number of south poles. Rotors with mags need to be layed out so mags of the same pole pass thru legs of coils in phase at the same time in all three phases. doing a search in the Google will give you alot of information, I have been on this board going on three years, and I still reley on the Google for information. hope this helps,

great fun, Harrie

« Last Edit: December 19, 2006, 10:19:18 PM by harrie »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2006, 01:45:32 AM »
For a single phase winding it it usual to have one coil per pole,but you can leave half the coils out and double the number of turns on the remainder with much the same results.

Normally a 3 phase winding has 3 single phase windings spaced at 120 electrical degrees,so it would have 3 coils per pole.