Author Topic: My first set of blades (part 1 of ?)  (Read 1224 times)

icicle

My first set of blades (part 1 of ?)
« on: March 14, 2007, 03:28:08 AM »
This is my first attempt yes they are skinny and thin but for a learning set they didn't cost much

the fuzzy white lines you see is cigarette smoke my boards are 1" thick x 3" wide x 8 feet long

this picture I was trying to show how far I went up before I started my taper which was 8" from bottom

this one was my airfoil so far at the tip, Still need to trim it down another 1/4"

This on is why you don't cut with a dremel tool I also have the saws all attachment

most of the wood is knot free I tried but I have to live with a few knots

After two hours by my dremel tool and the planner attachment I gave up

my tip angle was or still is at 7 dregees

as I get all my hand tools and more money I get them done. Two rough cut four more to go

I plan on making a 6 blader

Cody

« Last Edit: March 14, 2007, 03:28:08 AM by (unknown) »

sdscott

Re: My first set of blades (part 1 of ?)
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 04:23:19 AM »
Cody, this may just be a practice-run for you, however, you should be aware that your dimensions are way-off of a production grade set of blades.  Eight-foot blades will render a 16-foot sweep-area, and with a 3" by 1" Root, you will have too much flexing and too little strength along the Cord of the blades to support the turning forces in moderate winds (not to mention strong winds).  The structural integrity of this rotor will fail quickly, and be very dangerous.  I suggest that you read more on this forum about blade-carving and understand the basic design and concepts of good blade design a little better before you continue in the direction you seem to be headed.  P.s. Why are you are planning a six-blade rotor?

Cheers!

« Last Edit: March 14, 2007, 04:23:19 AM by sdscott »

icicle

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 05:51:28 AM »