Author Topic: Proposed Windmill  (Read 1471 times)

gerd1022

Proposed Windmill
« on: March 15, 2007, 10:39:20 PM »
hello all... I am new to posting on this board, but i have been watching it for awhile.  I'm pretty interested in wind power, so i thought id try to build my own mill.

The idea originally started because i am a college student (umass amherst), and will be living off campus next year, and was looking for a way to decrease my electricity bill (aren't we all).  as a mechanical engineer in training, i decided to make a windmill.

Here is a solidworks drawing of my proposed blade setup.

Editors Note:

1114K picture removed.

The blades are all the "zubwoofer" blades from 4" pvc, modified slightly with a 7 degree tip angle and a 35 degree base angle.  The hub is a treadmill flywheel, which will be attached to the treadmill motor.  I am thinking of making the blades 2' long, and using 6 blades as seen in the drawing.  However this is open to suggestions.  My goal is to be able to power my laptop with it, do people thing that that would be possible?

The batteries i plan on using come out of a UPS (uninterruptible power supply) They are 2 6 volt sealed lead acid batteries.  I know that these are not ideal, but i have a near limitless supply of free ones, and the whole point of this is to be free, so i am sticking with that.  Does anyone have experience with using these batteries, and is there any way that the battery charger that is already in the ups could/should be used to supply a charge from the mill to the batteries.  as i said, i am a mechanical engineer, not electrical, so im not very knowledgeable about that stuff.  

As an aside, i recently found a big honkin (10" diameter, 12" long) three phase motor for free... would this be a good canditate for my next step in wind power? (assuming there is a next step)

« Last Edit: March 15, 2007, 10:39:20 PM by (unknown) »

gerd1022

Re: Proposed Windmill
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 06:07:40 PM »