Author Topic: what size of magnets and wire  (Read 1173 times)

homsted

what size of magnets and wire
« on: May 18, 2007, 06:32:28 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to the board, but have been reading the site for some time now.

I have a cottage that uses PVC panels to charge batteries, and I have a fairly large river in front. I would like to try and build a simple alternator/generator for some micro-hydro power. It will be different than the ones I have read about so far, and I am unsure on what size of magnets and wire to use. I'm guessing that the more powerful the current of the river, the larger (stronger?) the magents I can use. But, how do I know what size of wire to use for the coils? Is there a simple relationship? Or does it depend on the amount of current I THINK I will get out of it?

As you can probably tell, I'm no expert in electricity either (though I'm learning). If you can recommend some basic reading, or a source of free information on the subject, I'd appreciate it. If there's no response, I'll just try to duplicate one of the projects on your site, and then experiment after that.

Cheers! Love the site, and the way of life.

Homsted

« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 06:32:28 PM by (unknown) »

JW

• Development Manager
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Flashsteam.com
Re: what size of magnets and wire
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2007, 05:31:11 PM »
Hi Homsted,

"As you can probably tell, I'm no expert in electricity either (though I'm learning). If you can recommend some basic reading, or a source of free information on the subject,"

Nice spelling...

Anyhow you should look into some of the nomenclature by that dude from the UK.(its not free, but not prohbitivly expensive either, besides its considered referencable material) Cant think of the name just now, ummm, its the scraigwind guy, damn it why cant I remember... Anyway use the google search feature(hopefully it has the spell check feature, I think it does) here on the board,