Author Topic: electronic resistor Furling  (Read 908 times)

Disaster Transport

electronic resistor Furling
« on: May 23, 2007, 03:49:36 AM »
Im in the process of my first wind genny and Im still researching furling techniques. I believe variable pitched blades with centrifical force as the drive is the best method. I am a machinist and the machanisms needed to create such a device would not be so diffucult. Although I would like to explore the resistor method. How does it work?  Explain as if it were a 12 foot machine please...
« Last Edit: May 23, 2007, 03:49:36 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: electronic resistor Furling
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2007, 01:17:34 AM »
What on earth are you on about?

A wind generator left to its own devices will have an output proportional to the cube of the wind speed, at some point it will produce more power than it can deal with and will run into trouble.

Very small machines may be robust enough to survive normal high winds without taking precautions but larger ones just will not survive. In every case the method of survival is the same, you reduce the energy captured by the blades.

As you say the best method is to alter the blade pitch either to reduce the lift causing the power out to stay constant or by bringing the blades into stall to reduce the efficiency ( again it reduces lift indirectly). This is not normally considered as furling but I suppose the effect is the same.

Furling strictly is reducing the effective area of the blades, as was done on sail windmills directly on the covered sail area. With modern blades it reduces the effective area by making the wind rotor turn at an angle to the wind so that the projected area is reduced ( cosine law).