Author Topic: Advice on hub for newbie stepper motor project?  (Read 2583 times)

matthew6

Advice on hub for newbie stepper motor project?
« on: June 26, 2007, 07:14:26 PM »
Hi all,

I'm building my first wind turbine using an old bike wheel and one of a selection of stepper motors I have.  I'd like to make something I can charge AAs with.  I'm new to electronics and tinkering in general, but I'm very interested in learning more.  Anyway, all four of my motors (three of them are the hefty ones with thick metal casings and one of them looks like a large hobby motor, which I took out of a printer) have shafts that are either smooth, or have plastic gear heads on them, and I can't figure out how to hook my bike wheel up to the shaft.  I suppose I could use a belt, but intuitively, it seems like running a belt around the wheel would cause a lot of friction and not be as efficient as mounting the wheel onto the shaft of the motor.  And I'm not sure if the motor shaft would hold the belt well without some sort of attachment for that.  

I know this is a very basic and fundamental design question, but I'm getting in on the ground floor, so any help would be appreciated.  I haven't found anything online that covers this in a way that really solves my problem.  I just don't know how to get the motor and the wheel working together I guess.  What parts do need?  

Thanks a lot,

Matt

« Last Edit: June 26, 2007, 07:14:26 PM by (unknown) »

coldspot

Re: Advice on hub for newbie stepper motor project
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 02:25:57 AM »
Hi

For my mothers yard toy, type, water pumper mini copy.

I found a toy car/truck (Lego maybe)rubber wheel that fit the shaft of the stepper to be used and mounted the stepper so as the little wheel was touching the top of the spinning shaft of fake windmill. Because the size difference isn't much the LED's only light up in strong winds.

With the size of a bike wheel and a small toy wheel, you could get high volts !.

:)

$0.02