Author Topic: Have 13' working windmill... need generator  (Read 2394 times)

javbw

Have 13' working windmill... need generator
« on: July 06, 2007, 02:02:01 AM »
Hello,

My father found and completely rebuilt an old windmill in the 70's, and it sits in our canyon yard turning for my entire life.   it is a large water pumping windmill with nothing to pump, so it lifts a rock up and down, just because it could.  It has probably lifted several hundred thousand tons worth of that rock 6"  up and down.

I was wondering if there is something I could attach to the shaft (directly or through a stepper to up the RPM) to a generator of some type.  I imagine, by looking at this site, it is possible to DIY the actual generator, but I'm a computer technician - I'm comfortable with a screwdriver, not a welder.  So I'm looking for suggestions for where to find an object or objects to attach to the windmill's 1" pumping shaft - it travels about 6" up and down over 10 seconds in a small breeze, with assumed tremendous power (since it would be used to haul water). the shaft does not rotate - it pushes up and down.  I imagine in the gearbox there would be a way to remove the shaft and whatnot, but it is antique, and I have no desire to modify the windmill itself for this task, just attach / jerry-rig something for the pumping shaft, even if it involves extreme duplicity.

My goal for the power would to be dump it back on the grid in some capacity, if possible, to lower power costs.

a picture of the overall view of the windmill, rock obscured) is found here.

http://web.mac.com/johnw/iWeb/Javbw/Photos-WillisHouse_files/P4250003_1_1.jpg

A large umbrella and a bench press board can be seen behind it, for scale.

it is surrounded by trees, but it is in a canyon that has a breeze 24/7 and goes like a bat outta hell in windy / stormy conditions.  the el nino storms in the 90's wore the paint off of the tips of the blades.

thank you in advance for the suggestions.