Author Topic: steel backing of magnets  (Read 3480 times)

mr mills

steel backing of magnets
« on: September 25, 2007, 08:33:38 PM »
Hi,

First of all, i'm a newbie, so apologies if this subject was already handled earlier.

I'm trying to get some more theory/reasoning about why i should or shouldn't use a steel disk to place the magnets on for my alternator. I'm building an axial rotor, mounting the magnets on a rim of a bicycle wheel. So basically, no steel or other fieldline conductors are close to the magnets.

My impression is that steel disks are often used to "arrange" fieldlines, so more of them effectively cross through the coil wires. Now, i can understand this concept when it is used along with laminated steel cores in/behind the coils in the stator, or when a second magnet disk is used behind the coils, attracting the fieldlines straight through the coils.

But suppose i'm using air coils on the stator(which can have it's advantages), is there still a benefit in using a steel base for the magnets on the rotor?

I think my bicycle wheel design can be compared slightly with the "wooden alternator", no fieldline conductors in rotor nor stator, and using "overkill" rare earth magnets. I think the output of my 24inch bicycle wheel could be reasonable, because it makes a high passing speed of the magnets at low RPM. In the end i would like to apply the alternator for a savonius type wind turbine.

mr mills, The Netherlands.

« Last Edit: September 25, 2007, 08:33:38 PM by (unknown) »

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
Re: steel backing of magnets
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 08:26:55 PM »
 been collecting parts and kicking around the same idea for a while,now probably waisted about 1/2 an hour on it today.

look for a steel wheel to start with.

mine's 20" in dia.

so twenty x3.14 would give a circumference of 62.8"

it might be a good home for all the hard drive mags i've been saving

they render a pole width of about .75"