Author Topic: piping for hot water panels  (Read 1168 times)

andyonu

piping for hot water panels
« on: November 01, 2007, 05:54:19 PM »
hi-newbie here-- i've done a bunch of research and I'm working on designing my closed loop solar hot water preheating system for a 6-unit apartment bldg.  I'm thinking about running the pipes from the roof down an old chimney that also is the flue for the boiler.  Advantage is I could capture some extra heat from the boiler flue gases.  disadvantage is that flue gases aren't so nice to copper?  any ideas?  pipe coatings?  fireproof insulation? Even if I can't capture any waste heat, the old chimney is still the best place for the pipe run.  

Also, I got a bunch of big old solar "hot air" collectors for free and I'm looking at the best way to plumb the boxes with piping so i can use them for heating water instead of air.  Anyone using old car/truck radiators inside a collector for heating water?  Any good links on the best way to design the piping for the collector? I'm thinking of soldering copper flashing to the copper tubes inside the box for more surface area facing the sun.

thanks!

andy o

« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 05:54:19 PM by (unknown) »

Capt Slog

Re: piping for hot water panels
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2007, 03:09:10 AM »
I know the idea of trying to extract heat from the flue gases sounds tempting, but I would say don't do it.

You rightly say that it will attack your tubing, but there is a more important factor.  The flue gases obviously go up the chimney because they are hot, cooling them down could affect the flow.  You stand a chance of causing carbon monoxide poisoning.

« Last Edit: November 02, 2007, 03:09:10 AM by Capt Slog »

Bruce S

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
  • USA
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2007, 11:47:01 AM »
Capt;

AMEN to that!!

Andy, one thing does come to mind when talking about the chimney, our codes say you must have a liner in there.