Author Topic: propeller for 50 to 60 mph wind  (Read 2452 times)

airtime

propeller for 50 to 60 mph wind
« on: January 04, 2008, 05:01:38 PM »
doing an experiment with a wind driven alternator behind a vehicle. the vehicle will be used to provide the exact wind speed. the blades will be inside a tube so wind will be coming from one direction only (and saftey) . trying to keep the tube to a 2o to 24" size. i'm thinking multiplal blades with a very high speed. trying to decide on a sutible size a/c 3 -phase alternator. this test will be for a battery charging system. i'm new to the wind power ideas and i'm no enginer (although my brother is and i will be referring the some technical questions to him so as not to get bogged down in technical stuff here). what i'm looking for is a starting point on the blade set up and alternator sizing. power out put predictions will be welcomed.

thanks in advance, gerald hocutt
« Last Edit: January 04, 2008, 05:01:38 PM by (unknown) »

Projector

Re: propeller for 50 to 60 mph wind
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 12:54:41 PM »
No advice on this, but some encouragement.  It's easier to do something when you know it's been done before.  Smokey Yunick used something like this to gain an extra edge on the race track.  He had a generator powered by a propeller inside the engine bay of his race car to take the power generation load off the engine.  When it was discovered by track officials it was outlawed as a cheat.  This took place back in the 60s, and race track speeds were around 100-120MPH or so.  He used a simple small propeller for this, so with a more modern design aimed towards efficiency you might be able to make something of this at a lower speed.  Might also consider mounting this to the front of the car where it'll hit the wind head-on.