Author Topic: windmill with DCPM Motor  (Read 4111 times)

Tballer2

windmill with DCPM Motor
« on: February 19, 2008, 08:09:59 AM »
Hi, I am very new to windmills, I have been doing some research on the internet. I would like to eventually try an axelflux? windmill. At the moment I am trying to make a windmill from a DCPM Motor. I have 2 Motors, 1 is an argord 2 1/2 hp 130volt dcpm motor, 18.5 amp. The other motor is a baldor motor, 90 volt .8 amp motor. the argord motor is not putting out enough volts, with low speed drill motor I am getting about 11 volts, and plenty of amps, it will light up a car headlight, no problem, The baldor, puts out 20 volts, but minimal amps, .8 and will light a turn signal bulb, as for a headlamp, no way hosay! Any suggestions would be helpful I am thinking gear up the argord with maybe  bicycle gears and chain, and shoot for 15 volts, and go with maybe 4' or 5' foot blades to spin it? Any help would be highly appreciated, Thank You
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 08:09:59 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: windmill with DCPM Motor
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 01:34:51 AM »
Forget the Baldor, it's probably a nice motor but you must realise that if you attempt to run it at a fraction of its intended voltage the rating will fall to a fraction. If you start with a motor based on 70W then as a wind generator you may be looking at 7W out.

The big one starting nearer 2kW should be able to do a lot more. It will cut in at 12v at about 1/10 of its rated speed. Unfortunately you don't give a makers speed or the speed of your drill so it is nearly impossible to say whether you need a speed increase                     or not.

You really need to sort out the speed at this stage. I doubt that you could use a speed increasing drive with a 4ft prop and retain any low wind speed performance but it would need a very fast motor indeed to not give something with a direct driven fast 4ft prop.